Execute a macro (vba script) and then remove it to Save as XLSX?

Jan 17, 2013 at 6:52 PM

Hello ppl,

My title says a lot about what I wish to achive. The library as such was very helpful for me. I was just wondering if i could execute the script i added to my file and then remove it after it executed and still save the file as a xlsx?

The VBA script just formats and groups my data and I wold like to hold on to the formatting when i remove the VBA part.

Looking for some code samples as I was not able to find any in the sample projects and I am very new to coding. Any help is appreciated. 

Thanks

Ron

Jan 18, 2013 at 2:34 PM
Edited Jan 18, 2013 at 2:39 PM

A better approach cold be to do some .NET code that uses epplus to organize, group and format the data in a spreadsheet worksheet without having to use a VBA macro. 

Otherwise -

The epplus OpenXML wrapper can do a lot but not everything that OpenXML covers.  Using my google and stackoverflow.com search IQ implant I bolted together some OpenXml code I found that can open a .xslm spreadsheet file that has macros, remove them, save the xlsm file, re-open the xlsm file and save it as a xlsx file:  You need to install the Open Office XML SDK (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30425) as the code below does not use epplus

(.NET 4.0 project)

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using DocumentFormat.OpenXml; // References C:\Program Files (x86)\Open XML SDK\V2.5\lib\DocumentFormat.OpenXml.dll
using DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Packaging;
using DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Spreadsheet;
using System.IO; // References : C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\.NETFramework\v4.0\Profile\Client\WindowsBase.dll

namespace RemoveExcelMacros1
{
  class Program
  {
    static void Main(string[] args)
    {
      DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Packaging.SpreadsheetDocument document = SpreadsheetDocument.Open(@"d:\sample1.xlsm", true);