This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Importing and exporting data - performance

Jun 4, 2010 at 8:53 AM

Hi! First of all I want to thank You for a great component :)

I wonder what the best apporoach is for importing/exporting dataTables from/to xlsx.

Im relatively new to both programming and VS, so therefore use VB.net not c#.

On the homepage, quote: "The access to cells has been totally rewritten using dictionaries, to gain better performance. You can now load 50 000 cells in seconds."

When saving to xlsx I iterate approx 1000 rows and 400 columns, takes about 30-45 seconds.

Is this the best opproach or im I missing soemthing here?

For instance, is it possible to import and save a whole worksheet, "wsheet.ExtractToDataTable(dataTable, wsheet.Rows[start], wsheet.Columns[start])"

And similar for putting data from a table to a worksheet, setting a cellID as start cell....

I can live with the performance, but if finetunig is possible, its always welcome :)

Keep up the good work :)

Jun 4, 2010 at 2:05 PM

Hi

Loading 400 000 cells in 30-45 sek sounds normal I guess.

The performance depends on a lot of things, like what kind of data you load  (a lot of strings take longer time), what kind of formatting you do and the performance of you database query, of course.

Generally, always load data from the top, Left to right to avoid the internal index to be resorted (thats the way you do it if you load a datatable).

That means that if you add a formula on the data it's faster to add it for every row than do it for a whole range after you have loaded the datatable (since that will insert cells in the sorted internal index).

Avoid to use the InsertRow and DeleteRow methods.

You can use the LoadFromDataTable-method on a range to load a datatable. I have not added a method for the other way around.

Jan

Jun 4, 2010 at 3:50 PM

Thanks for the reply!